Buddha & bUddhism in different pose.

Buddha & Buddhism Religion Blog.

  • blog
  • 22nd Jun, 2021
Buddha & bUddhism in different pose.

Buddha & Buddhism: Buddha is not the name of a person. A title tag to one that has reached enlightenment. Enlightenment has any being who has become fully awakened, permanently defeated desire, hate, and ignorance and has achieved complete freedom from suffering. When we hear Buddha, our mind thinks about Gautama Buddha or Siddhartha Gautam. This is because we have learned and known about him. There are many more too who have been in Buddhahood. Before Siddhartha Gautam, there were more buddhas existed.

Religious Facts about Buddha.

Want to Know about the all 28 Past Buddhas, we have a special blog on it.

Let's know about: What is Buddhism?

Buddhism is a non-theistic old religion dependent on the teachings of the Buddha. It is a way of practice and spiritual development knowledge into the nature of reality. Buddhism practices like meditation are means for changing yourself to develop the character of mindfulness, kindness, and good sense. The lessons of the Buddha are aimed only at freeing alive beings from suffering. The lesson of Buddha which are central to Buddhism are The Three Universal Truths, The Four Noble Truths, and The Noble Eightfold Path.

Founder of Buddhism

Buddhism was the largest religion in the world before the 1st world war. The word Buddhism comes from Buddha. The originator of Buddhism Was Siddhartha Gautama, who awakened in 563 BC in Lumbini (modern-day Nepal) at the age of 35. He taught for 45 years and died at the age of 80.
Gautama was born in a wealthy family as a prince, had an easy life. Gautama moved by suffering in the world. He chose to give up his rich lifestyle and suffer poverty. When this didn't satisfy him, he promoted the idea of the "middle Way", which means existing between two limits. Following six years of looking, Buddhists believe Gautama discovered enlightenment while meditating under a Bodhi tree. He spent the remaining of this life showing others how to achieve this spiritual state.

More on Buddhism

Many people are as yet thinking about What Buddhism is. This answer can have a different form but has a similar meaning. Buddhism is treated as a religion by those who see it as a religion and as philosophy by those who see it as a way of thinking. Indeed, Buddhism is more similar to philosophy, but it is more complete. Philosophy deals with theoretical information rather than practice, while Buddhism places specific emphasis on the direct understanding of knowledge through practice.
We can say, Buddhism is a thoughtful and practically reachable way of life that leads man to realize true knowledge and the supreme truth. Thus leading him to freedom from all forms of existential misery.

Monk distributing dry fruits

Type of Buddhism

Today, many sorts of Buddhism exist all around the world. The three principle types that represent specific geographical region includes:

  1. THERAVADA BUDDHISM: Common in Thailand, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Laos, and Burma.
  2. MAHAYANA BUDDHISM: Common in China, Japan, Taiwan, Korea, Singapore, and Vietnam.
  3. TIBETAN BUDDHISM: Common in Tibet, Nepal, Mongolia, Bhutan, and parts of Russia and India.
Small monks

What Do Buddhists Believe?

There are numerous important differences among Buddhists across age and season. We can find the core of Buddhist belief in the lessons of the Buddha’s first message, known as the Four Nobel Truths.

1. The First Noble Truth: The Truth of Suffering

The Buddha makes a moving, general remark about the fundamental nature of human life. Life as it normally lived, a difficulty, dukkha. Permanent happiness cannot found by sticking to the physical and mental things of the world.

2. The Second Noble Truth: The Truth of the Origination of Suffering

The Second Nobel Truth focuses on the main root cause of this determined suffering: Desire. Here the Buddha teaches that the reason for our unhappiness and dissatisfaction is our need for self-delight.

3. The Third Noble Truth: The Truth of the Cessation of Suffering

The Third Noble Truth offers some hope: an end to such suffering is feasible. The Buddha teaches that the end of suffering- the answer of nirvana achieved by letting go of our need or thirst for more. NIRVANA means a situation of entire peace and happiness, like heaven.

4. The Fourth Noble Truth: The Truth of the Eightfold Path

The Fourth Noble Truth trains that nirvana can be accomplished through the practice of the Eightfold Path. The Buddha's "formula:" to cure the disease of suffering. The eight components are Right Understanding, Right Views, Right Speech, Right Behavior, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, and Right Attention.

Buddhist Holy Book

Buddhist revere many holy messages and scriptures. Probably the most significant are:

  1. Tipitaka: These texts, known as the "The Baskets," are believed to be the earliest collection of Buddhist writings.
  2. Sutras: There are more than two thousand sutras, which are sacred lessons embraced mainly by Mahayana Buddhists.
  3. The Book of the Dead: This Tibetan text portrays the phase of death in detail.
Monk reading book. Buddha & Buddhism